Dragons Love Tacos (play)
Director: TBD
Choreographer: TBD
Stage Manager: TBD

Audition Workshop: Sat, Aug 8, 9am-12pm & 1-4pm
Auditions: Tues, Aug 11 & Wed, Aug 12, 5:30-7:30pm
Callbacks: Sat, Aug 15, 10am-2pm
Cast List Posted By: Wed, Aug 19 after 3pm
Rehearsals Start: Tues, Aug 25, 5:30-7:30pm
School Time Performances: Wed, Oct 7 & Thurs Oct 8
Public Performances: Fri, Oct 9 (4:30 & 7pm) & Sat, Oct 10 (2pm)
CLICK HERE FOR DETAILED DRAGONS LOVE TACOS AUDITION INFORMATION
The Snowy Day & Other Stories (play)
Director: TBD
Stage Manager: TBD

Audition Workshop: Sat, Sept 5, 9am-12pm & 1-4pm
Auditions: Tues, Sept 15 or Wed, Sept 16, 5:30-7:30pm
Callbacks: Sat, Sept 19, 10am-2pm
Cast List Posted By: Wed, Sept 23 after 3pm
Rehearsals Start: Tues, Oct 13, 5:30-7:30pm
School Time Performances: Wed, Dec 2 & Thurs, Dec 3
Public Performances: Fri, Dec 4 (4:30 & 7pm) & Sat, Dec 5 (2pm)
CLICK HERE FOR DETAILED SNOWY DAY AUDITION INFORMATION
Disney's Freaky Friday (musical)
Director: Adam Sanders
Music Director: LeRoy Kennedy
Choreographer: Lustra Miller
Stage Manager: TBD

Audition Workshop: Sat, Oct 31, 9am-1pm
Auditions: Tues, Nov 10 & Wed, Nov 11, 5:30-7:30pm
Callbacks: Sat, Nov 14, 10am-2pm
Cast List Posted By: Wed, Nov 18 after 3pm
Rehearsals Start: Tues, Dec 8, 5:30-7:30pm
School Time Performances: Thurs, Feb 11 & Fri, Feb 12
Public Performances: Fri, Feb 12 (4:30pm), Sat, Feb 13 (2pm) & Sun, Feb 14 (2pm)
CLICK HERE FOR DETAILED FREAKY FRIDAY AUDITION INFORMATION
Alice in Wonderland (play)
Director: TBD
Stage Manager: TBD

Audition Workshop: Sat, Jan 9, 9am-12pm & 1-4pm
Auditions: Tues, Jan 19 & Wed, Jan 20, 5:30-7:30pm
Callbacks: Sat, Jan 23, 10am-2pm
Cast List Posted By: Wed, Jan 27 after 3pm
Rehearsals Start: Tues, Feb 23, 5:30-7:30pm
School Time Performances: Wed, Apr 14 & Thurs, Apr 15
Public Performances: Fri, Apr 16 (4:30 & 7pm) & Sat, Apr 17 (2pm)
CLICK HERE FOR DETAILED ALICE IN WONDERLAND AUDITION INFORMATION

AUDITION INFORMATION

9am - 12pm

Audition workshops are open to youth in the 3rd-12th grade. Our workshops are a great way to experience the audition process, prior to auditions.

At each workshop:

- Students will receive individualized guidance from the director on audition techniques and how to "get that role!"

- Students will have the opportunity to participate in a mock audition.

 

Workshops are $30.00 and pre-registration is required.

 

Workshops fill up quickly so call today to reserve your spot.

(864) 585-8278

AUDITION WORKSHOPS

CASTING POLICIES:  Auditions are open to youth in the 3rd-12th grades, however the director for each show may look for a more specific age range that may not always include the younger ages. Specific age requirements and casting information will be posted about 3-4 weeks before the auditions for each respective show.  No roles have been pre-cast unless otherwise specifically stated in the audition notice.  Youth of all ethnicities and backgrounds are encouraged to audition.


ETIQUETTE:  Please arrive at least 15 minutes early to fill out any necessary information sheets. You will audition in the order that you arrive.  Make sure to wear clothes and shoes that are comfortable to move around in.


PREPARATION:  For non-musicals, all auditionees are required to prepare a 1 minute monologue for the audition.  If you do not have a monologue, one will be provided for you at the audition.  Monologues will also be available prior to auditions at the Spartanburg Youth Theatre offices.

 

For musicals, all auditionees are required to prepare 16-32 bars of a musical theatre song for the audition. Please bring sheet music. An accompanist will be provided. If you do not have a song, one will be provided for you at the audition.


WHERE:  All auditions are held at the Chapman Cultural Center Youth Theatre Classroom at 200 E. St. John Street, Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29306.


WHEN:  Please note the above audition dates and times for the current Spartanburg Youth Theatre season.  Auditions are always on the Monday and Tuesday from 5:30-7:30 pm immediately following the previous SYT production.  Callbacks are on the Thursday following auditions.

GENERAL AUDITION NOTES

CASTING POLICIES:  Auditions are open to youth in the 3rd-12th grades, however the director for each show may look for a more specific age range that may not always include the younger ages. Specific age requirements and casting information will be posted about 3-4 weeks before the auditions for each respective show.  No roles have been pre-cast unless otherwise specifically stated in the audition notice.  Youth of all ethnicities and backgrounds are encouraged to audition.


ETIQUETTE:  Please arrive at least 15 minutes early to fill out any necessary information sheets. You will audition in the order that you arrive.  Make sure to wear clothes and shoes that are comfortable to move around in.


PREPARATION:  For non-musicals, all auditionees are required to prepare a 1 minute monologue for the audition.  If you do not have a monologue, one will be provided for you at the audition.  Monologues will also be available prior to auditions at the Spartanburg Youth Theatre offices.

 

For musicals, all auditionees are required to prepare 16-32 bars of a musical theatre song for the audition. Please bring sheet music. An accompanist will be provided. If you do not have a song, one will be provided for you at the audition.


WHERE:  All auditions are held at the Chapman Cultural Center Youth Theatre Classroom at 200 E. St. John Street, Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29306.


WHEN:  Please note the above audition dates and times for the current Spartanburg Youth Theatre season.  Auditions are always on the Monday and Tuesday from 5:30-7:30 pm immediately following the previous SYT production.  Callbacks are on the Thursday following auditions. Auditionees should only audition one of the two nights offered.

PARTICIPATING IN AN SYT PRODUCTION

ACTIVITY FEE:  If cast, there is a $25 activity fee to participate in an SYT production. The fee covers cast party expenses, director and stage manager gifts, makeup expenses, and the tech Sunday meal.


REHEARSAL SCHEDULE:  For most productions, rehearsals are Monday-Friday from 5:30-7:30pm. The schedule may vary depending on the specific director. Some directors may rehearse some Sundays from 2-4pm, and some Saturdays from 10am-12pm. Depending on the role, certain actors may not be called for every rehearsal.


CONFLICTS:  Conflicts are allowed up until two weeks before the production opens. Auditionees should bring their schedule with them to auditions and list all conflicts on the audition form. Conflicts cannot be added once an actor is cast. Conflicts can factor into casting so it is important that all conflicts are listed on the audition form. If an actor adds conflicts after rehearsals have begun, it may result in curtailed performance opportunities or dismissal from the production.


TECH WEEK:  Tech week is the Saturday-Tuesday before school shows begin. Actors are required to be at the theatre 10-4pm Saturday, 2-9pm on Sunday, and 5-9pm on Monday and Tuesday.


SCHOOL SHOWS:  For each SYT production, there will be two days of school time performances that will occur during school hours. If cast in an SYT production, actors must miss school for these days.

imagination never gets old.

SYT Office: (864) 585-8278

Box Office: (864) 542-2787

200 E. St. John Street

Spartanburg, SC 29306

The Spartanburg Little Theatre & Youth Theatre are funded in part by The Arts Partnership of Greater Spartanburg and its donors, the City and County of Spartanburg, and the South Carolina Arts Commission, which receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts.